Item Review: Hell Bunny Calaveras Dress

Some pinup girls just aren’t into sweet and pretty prints.  So what’s a girl to do?

SONY DSC

Hell Bunny has recently come out with a great Day of the Dead print that errs on the side of tough, not sweet.  Featuring sugar skulls, roses and crosses on a black background, this dress allows for co-ordination with blue, pink, yellow, black, green or white accessories.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

The halter neck is surprisingly comfortable , with buttons to allow for the length of the halter neck to be altered.  I usually find halter necks pull on my neck, but I have had no trouble with this dress.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Two small front pockets are a nice detail, being both functional (big enough to fit my smart phone or a mirror and lipstick) and decorative.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

The back of this dress is ruched with elastic for a comfortable stretch and fit.  It also means you can size down from your usual Hell Bunny size.  A zip up the back allows you to step into the dress, and I was able to do and undo the zip on my own.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

The 50s style full skirt fit a two-layered petticoat underneath without any drama, enhancing the silhouette of the dress.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

I’m wearing a size Large.  The Calaveras dress is available in sizes XS to 4XL.

SONY DSC

 

I purchased mine from Atomic Beauty in Rockhampton, Queensland for AU$75.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

In these photos, I paired my dress with a belt and scarf from Pretty in Pinup, purse from Ms Katt’s Kustom House, necklace and petticoat from Your One Stop Pinup Shop, cardigan by MAK,  bangles by Splendette and shoes from Rivers.

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in 1950s, Accessories, Atomic Beauty Parlour, Fashion, Ms Katt's Kustom House, Opinion, Your One Stop Pinup Shop and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Item Review: Hell Bunny Calaveras Dress

  1. I love the pink accessories with that dress! 🙂

    Like

  2. So pretty on you. And I love the way you’ve styled it. Perfect!

    Like

Leave a comment