Liveable Vintage: Vintage Makeup Brushes

One of the vintage items that I use everyday is my set of makeup brushes, inherited from my grandma via my mum.

SONY DSC

My set is actually made up of two parts.  The white celluloid stand and a single matching eyeshadow brush are branded Helena Rubenstein and date from the 1960s, as far as I can tell.  Helena Rubenstein was an Australian makeup and skincare entrepreneur who competed against the likes of Elizabeth Arden.  Unfortunately, the rest of the celluloid brush set seems to be lost.

SONY DSC

1950s and 60s vintage

 

The other part of my everyday makeup brush set consists of a little set of three vintage bamboo handled brushes, dating from around the late 1950s.  This little set includes an eyeshadow brush, lip brush and blusher brush.  My family lived in Samoa for a few generations and I believe these may have been purchased either there or somewhere in the region.

SONY DSC

Mixed in with these vintage brushes, I have a couple of modern bamboo handled brushes from the brand EcoTool, just to give me a few more options.

I’m also lucky enough to have a portable travel brush set that dates, again, from the 1960s as far as I can tell.  With a decent sized mirror and a good selection of short celluloid handled brushes, it’s a nice little kit for holidays or travelling, though it’s a shame that the onboard light no longer works.

little makeup set

While not everything old is still useful or valuable, I think that these vintage makeup brushes are worth holding on to for a long time to come, and I use them daily with no problems.  You can occasionally find vintage makeup brushes for sale online, and if they’re going for a good price, it might be worth snapping them up.

Do you have any vintage items that you use daily?

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in beauty, Liveable Vintage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Liveable Vintage: Vintage Makeup Brushes

  1. Polly says:

    My rocking chair. I’ve no idea how old it is, but I saw it in an op shop a couple of years ago and it was love at first sight. $50, but it was payday. I love that rocking chair!

    Like

  2. Vera Gin says:

    Nice to have something with history to it, isn’t it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

