Item Review: The Oblong Box Shop Pineapple Skirt

Last weekend I finally had the chance to take my new Oblong Box Shop skirt out for the day.  It was beautifully sunny, so Miss Milla Cherry and I headed to the beach to take some photos.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

The Oblong Box Shop skirt that I’d chosen is the “Pineapple Smoothie” print – because everyone who knows me knows that I love pineapples!  This cute skirt features a repeating border print of geometric pineapples on a cream background.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Made from lightweight but sturdy polyester, this is going to be a perfect skirt for summer here in Queensland, and I can see myself picking up some more Oblong Box Shop cotton skirts in other prints before next summer.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

The artwork on these skirts is all unique to The Oblong Box Shop, and the skirts feature a subtle signature near the hem.  Helpfully, there’s a small lipstick pocket sewn into the right side hem.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

The skirt fastens with a side zip and a single button, which can be moved a little in either direction on the waistband to make the fit perfect for you.  I’m wearing a 2XL, which fits me really well without any adjustments needed.  Keep in mind that there’s no stretch in these skirts, so size up if needed.

The great thing about this skirt is that it’s wash and wear, making it easy to care for.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

This is on the shorter side of skirts at 26″, if you’re used to the mid-shin lengths common to Pinup Girl Clothing, but on my 5’2″/158cm frame it falls to just past my knees.  I really like this length for summer.  Lengthwise, I was able to fit a shortish Spin Dance Australia petticoat underneath.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

The Pineapple Smoothie skirt comes in sizes S-3X, catering for waists from 26 to 41 inches.  As noted above, I’m wearing the 2X, which caters for a 37-38″ waist, making it a good fit for my currently 37 inch waist.

SONY DSC

 

SONY DSC

The Pineapple Smoothie skirt costs US$102 or about AU$138 at current rates, although if you sign up for the newsletter, you can get a discount code to use on your first purchase.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

For these photos, I paired my Pineapple Smoothie skirt with a top from Pinup Girl Clothing, pineapple brooch from Luxulite, hair flower from Hawaiian Hairlooms, cardigan from MAK, and shoes from BAIT.  My pineapple bag is from CollectifCollectif and my pineapple glass is from Target Australia.  The sunglasses are prescription frames by Collette Dinnigan.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Thank you to Miss Milla Cherry for acting as photographer!

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in 1950s, Collectif, Fashion, Item Review, Online Shopping, OOTD, Opinion, PinupGirlClothing, style and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Item Review: The Oblong Box Shop Pineapple Skirt

  1. Such a great review, beautiful photos and outfit! The photographer wasn’t half bad either! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Polly says:

    Fabulous ensemble!

    Now I want pineapple. I love in New Zealand and it’s winter. I’m probably not going to get pineapple.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gorgeous photos! Absolutely love the way you’ve styled this skirt!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

