Item Review: Vivien of Holloway Circle Skirt

One of my newest skirts is this beautiful leopard print circle skirt from UK company Vivien of Holloway.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Unlike many “circle skirts”, this one actually is a full circle of fabric, so it has beautiful drape and flow over full petticoats, and moves really nicely.  In these photos, I’m wearing a two layer Your One Stop Pinup Shop petticoat underneath.

SONY DSC

 

SONY DSC

 

The skirt fastens with a zip and button at the middle of the back.  The button can be moved and restitched up to an inch either way to perfectly adjust the fit for your figure.  When I made my purchase, the lovely ladies at Vivien of Holloway advised me to get the 36 inch waist skirt based on my personal measurements, and it is a great fit without any adjustment needed.  I’m glad I didn’t size up.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

The skirt is made of medium weight cotton with minimal stretch, so if you’re unsure of your size, I’d definitely recommend firing off an email and getting an expert opinion on what size to buy, as the waistband really doesn’t have any give to it.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

This skirt falls to a great midi length on me, being a few inches below my knees.  It’s easy to wear a petticoat underneath as any standard length petti will be hidden from sight.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

This full circle skirt is available in a number of prints, such as florals and polka dots, and plain colours.  One print that I’m dying to get my hands on is a black on black leopard print.

SONY DSC

 

The Vivien of Holloway circle skirts retail for 49 GBPounds, or about AU$100 at current rates.  The standard size range for these skirts covers waists from 24 to 38 inches in two inch increments.  Currently, sizes 24 to 32 are in stock for this colourway.

SONY DSC

I like to pair this skirt with a black lurex jumper, a black velvet long-sleeved shirt, or a red peasant top (as seen here).  Red and black accessories finish off the look.  I’m wearing a red peasant top from Pinup Girl Clothing, a black Scotty brooch from Your One Stop Pinup Shop, red seamed black stockings from Plus Size Bras, and black flats from Bamboo.  My lipstick is from the Max Factor Marilyn Collection.

2016-06-16 16.23.17.jpg

Do you own any Vivien of Holloway items?  What’s your favourite print for winter?

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in 1950s, Accessories, Fashion, Item Review, Online Shopping, Opinion, PinupGirlClothing, style, vivien of holloway, Your One Stop Pinup Shop and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Item Review: Vivien of Holloway Circle Skirt

  1. Such a great skirt! I love red and leopard print together! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. HuggyHare says:

    I love Vivien of Holloway and I have 6 of her halterneck circle dresses and I’m thinking of buying two more, when they become available (navy gingham and yellow large picnic print), because they are really nice. The only problem for me is that I can’t wash them in the washing machine because of the boning and that the staff recommended dry cleaning for darker items to avoid drip marks, but I’d really just want to hand wash them to keep them clean… So far I’ve just aired them well and they’re good to go as long as I don’t get them stained!

    I don’t have their skirts yet, but last winter I eyed on the black on black leopard print you were talking about, which is a velvety kind of fabric and would be perfect for winter. I’m not a huge fan of leopard print (on myself), so it would be perfectly subtle for my tastes! They also have those adorable shorts which would look great with cute summer tops 🙂 Totally one of my favorite brands, but now very expensive because £->€ conversion rates are so high.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great print on you! I love it with the red!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

