Corsetry: Seasoning the Corset

6 June 2016, Day One: Initial Measurements

  • Measurement of natural, uncorseted waist: 100.4cm
  • Measurement over corset: 96cm
  • Wearing: size 30 corset (CS-411 in mesh)
  • cms lost since starting (uncorseted): N/A
  • cms lost since starting (corseted): N/A
  • Difference between uncorseted and corseted waist: 4.4cm

 

My two new Orchard Corsets arrived today.  They were rolled and carefully wrapped in tissue paper, but I quickly had them unwrapped and ready to go!  For those who haven’t read my post about starting waist training, the two corsets I got are the CS-411 in black mesh, and the CS-411 in black and floral brocade.

The first step of wearing a new corset for the first time is to season the corset.  This is a gradual breaking in of the corset, which not only makes for a more comfortable wear experience, but also allows the corset to mould to your shape rather than becoming warped and damaged from being laced too tightly too quickly.

Orchard Corsets sends out a small seasoning information brochure with their corsets, which advises wearing the corset for only short periods of time (60-120 minutes) at first, and gradually tightening the corset over the course of this time and over the course of several seasoning sessions.

The Orchard Corset blog has helpful tips and videos for seasoning new corsets.

I knew from my reading that my mesh corset would be the easier one to season, due to its flexible fabric, while the lovely brocade corset would take more time, due to its inflexible fabric.  Since I’m going away soon to Cooly Rocks On, I decided to leave my brocade corset aside for the moment and focus on beginning to season my mesh corset.

image.jpg

I fully loosened the laces to make the corset as large as possible, then wrapped it around me and fastened the four hooks along the front busk.  This done, I began to tighten the laces at the top and bottom until the corset was snug but not tight.  I tied off the laces, and used a measuring tape to measure my corsetted waist (I had also measured my waist before putting the corset on.)  My uncorsetted waist measured 100.4cm, while my corsetted waist measured exactly 96cm over the corset – a difference of 4.4cm.  Remember that this is only the very beginning, as I will be gradually and slowly tightening the corset over the next hour or so, and over the next few wear sessions.

image

 


Day One: Measurements after one hour

  • Measurement of natural, uncorseted waist: 100.4cm
  • Measurement over corset: 95cm
  • Wearing: size 30 corset (CS-411 in mesh)
  • cms lost since starting (uncorseted): N/A
  • cms lost since starting (corseted): 1cm
  • Difference between uncorseted and corseted waist: 5.4cm

image


I had to take a number of days off from waist training due to having had a lumbar puncture!  But I’m back now and getting into the groove of things.  Tonight is my first night sleeping in my corset, after spending several sessions seasoning my corset.

13 June 2016, Day Seven/One Week Measurements

  • Measurement of natural, uncorseted waist: 100.4cm
  • Measurement over corset: 93.5cm
  • Wearing: size 30 corset (CS-411 in mesh)
  • cms lost since starting (uncorseted): N/A
  • cms lost since starting (corseted): 2.5cm
  • Difference between uncorseted and corseted waist: 6.9cm

thumbnail_IMG_3157.jpg

I successfully slept in my corset with no discomfort, and was in fact so comfortable that I left my corset on for half the day as well, making a total time of about 16 hours straight.

I’ll be sleeping in my corset most nights in order to make a good start on my waist training journey.

 

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in 1950s, corsets, Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Corsetry: Seasoning the Corset

  1. Lauren says:

    I tried wearing a corset once but found it just pushed the lost cms down below causing a fat tyre effect in the lower regions 😕 not very attractive! How do you avoid this?

    Like

    • Vera Gin says:

      It may be down to wearing a corset that wasn’t long enough for your torso – with a properly fitting corset, this shouldn’t be an issue! Decent corset sites like Orchard Corset have instructions as to how to measure yourself for a corset, and offer longer length corsets for those who need them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

