This Week in my Life: 6-12 June 2016

I’ve had a hugely busy week, during which:

  • I travelled to Brisbane to see Dita von Teese

On Monday, a good friend and I drove down south to see Dita von Teese perform in Brisbane.  It was a long drive but we had lots of time to chat.  Unfortunately, when we arrived at the show, we found that the venue was poorly suited to a hugely cramped standing show, and we were unable to see anything at all of any of the performers.  To make matters worse, about halfway through I got really ill, and…

  • I ended up in hospital

My friend’s mum, who was with us, drove me to the Royal Brisbane with a devastating headache, neck pain, neck stiffness and cramping, and vomiting.  I felt really, terribly ill.  The doctors put me on fluids, painkillers and antibiotics through a drip and tested for a bleed on the brain using a CT Scan, and for meningitis using a lumbar puncture, which was really scary!  They kept me in overnight, and the next morning I convinced them to let me travel home because my friend had to drive north that day.  With confirmation that I didn’t have a bleed on the brain or meningitis, but no answer as to what caused my illness, I was given forms to have more tests done at home.

  • I had some op shop wins

One nice thing about the week was that I had some great finds in op shops and antique stores.  I picked up a crystal dressing table set from an op shop in Maleny, a 1920s crystal necklace from a Maleny antique store, and a 1960s portable hood hair dryer from an antique store in Coolangatta.

2016-06-13 14.39.05.jpg

2016-06-13 14.40.51.jpg

  • I competed as a finalist at Cooly Rocks On

I was so excited to be announced as a finalist in the Miss Cooly Rocks On pageant at Coolangatta’s huge retro festival over the weekend.  While I didn’t place, I had a lot of fun both in the pageant and at the festival, which I attended with my friend Miss Milla Cherry.

You can check out my outfits in this week’s Weekly Wardrobe posts and in posts that I put up on my Facebook throughout the weekend.

 

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in 1950s, Accessories, Australian, beauty, Erstwilder, Fashion, Liveable Vintage, Opinion, style and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This Week in my Life: 6-12 June 2016

  1. Ginger St. George says:

    I was at Dita on Tuesday too – what an absolute disaster! It’s such a shame because the Tivoli is a gorgeous venue, and they’ve had seated burlesque shows there before. Apparently the promoter just wanted to pack the place out, and so hit maximum capacity. My inner functions manager was getting real agitated by that, I can tell you!
    We’re quite fortunate in that we’ve got tickets to the Gold Coast shows now as compensation (true enough that it’s not what you know, but who you know, I suppose!) but after feeling the strain on my neck for nearly four days after the show, I can only imagine how you felt taking ill during it!

    Still – those op shop finds are DIVINE! Nice work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

