Corsetry: Beginning Waist Training

I used to wear corsets all the time, when I lived in England.  The weather there was more suitable for the extra layer, and my job at the time allowed me the time to wear corsets, both at work (sometimes) and on my frequent days off.

40573_10150244157485438_5118538_n

Me in my skinny, corsetted days in England.  I still have this blue corset, though sadly it is currently too small for me.

When I came back to Australia, a combination of unwelcome weight gain and the blazing hot conditions we experience for much of the year made me drop wearing corsets.  Only in the last year or so have I started to wear corsets occasionally again.

But for some time now, I’ve been wanting to begin waist training seriously, with the goal of reducing my corsetted waist by many inches, and gradually reducing my natural, uncorsetted waist as well.

411_black_leather_front___70062.1445017649.1280.1280.jpg-c=2

The leather corset I already own and which fits well. I wear a size 32 corset, partially closed.

I currently own two corsets that fit me, and two that do not (being too small).  In preparation for starting waist training, I have just ordered two more underbust corsets from Orchard Corset in the US – a breathable mesh corset and a heavier brocade corset.  They retail for US$69 each (AU$93.50 at current rates), though Orchard Corset often have sales.

I plan to do most of my waist training at night, once my corsets are properly seasoned.  This is because my current job is highly unsuitable for wearing corsets.  I’ll be using the mesh corset to wear while I sleep, allowing me to get 8 hours of corset wearing done, 5 to 6 nights a week.  In addition, when I have days off and am able to, I’ll wear my leather, brocade or satin corset either under my clothes or as part of my outfit.  This will allow me to add to my corsetted hours and to enjoy wearing my prettier corsets!  In addition, the corsets can be worn with suspender tabs and stockings, in place of girdles and suspender belts.

I’ll be keeping track of my results and posting here with updates, so if that’s something you’re interested in reading about, drop me a comment to let me know!  And if you have a waist training story to share, or tips about your favourite corset brands and sites, let me know 🙂  I also plan to write about the foundation garments worn in the 40s, 50s and 60s and compare them to modern reproductions and brands.

I’ll post beginning photos and measurements within the next few days.

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in 1950s, corsets, Fashion, Online Shopping, Opinion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Corsetry: Beginning Waist Training

  1. This is something I thought about doing myself, but like you my job is very unsuitable and I’m just not sure if I feel comfortable wearing one a lot of the time!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have a couple cheap Burleska corsets from my more gothic/rock styled days, but they are too small on my current frame (size 22″) so I haven’t worn them in years. When I did wear them, I found them comfortable enough and if I wore something of higher quality, I think I could manage wearing one for 8 h a day. BUT I could never sleep in one, as I hate wearing clothes when I’m sleeping, aside from panties and socks (because I have literally cold feet :D).

    Like

Leave a Reply

