Pretty Things List #20

When I was typing the title of this post, I accidentally typed “Pretty Things Lust”…which I guess tells you what I think of this week’s items!

I’m heading off to Cooly Rocks On, a massive retro festival at Coolangatta on the Queensland/New South Wales border, next weekend.  I’ll be attending the festival with my good pinup friend Miss Milla Cherry, and while there I’ll be competing as a finalist in the Miss Cooly pageant.

So this week’s Pretty Things List, of course, is a wish list of things to wear at Cooly’s!  Some of these are items I already own and will be taking with me, others are things I hope to pick up while I’m there.

Cooly’s runs from the first to second weekends of June here in Queensland, making it at the very start of winter.  However, this is a Queensland winter, which can mean anythinng from 28 degree Celsius days with glorious sunshine, to cool, crisp, blustery storm-filled afternoons.  This means you need to be smart when packing for a festival!

bikini_beach_gal_beach_shot__14543_1439514491_1000_1200_1024x1024

Start with a shirt or dress appropriate for a warm, sunny day.  This cute little top from Atomic Swag is perfect for coastal Coolangatta, with its beaches and surf culture.  With a fabulous seaside vintage print, this top is available in sizes XS to 2XL, catering for busts from 34 inches to 44 inches, and is made from soft cotton jersey.

 

You can purchase it, plus other Atomic Swag designs, from Gwynnies for AU$36.

hannah1000_1024x1024

If you’d prefer a dress (I usually do), you could try one of Hearts and Roses’ many beautiful floral prints.  With a wide range available at Aussie retailers such as Wild Kitty Clothing, you’re sure to find one you like.  One I have my eye on is this lovely pink-toned floral – the Hannah dress.  The description calls the print hibiscus, but to my environmental scientist’s eye it looks much more like Oleander.  With a full skirt and made of breathable stretch cotton, this is a great dress to use as the basis of a Cooly’s outfit, as it would be comfy all day long.  Available in sizes AU18 – 24 from Wild Kitty Clothing (catering for busts from 44 to 50 inches and waists from 38 to 44 inches), it is AU$79.

You’ll want to add a comfy cardi to your outfit for the early morning and late afternoon chill in the air.  MAK cardigans are very popular in the pinup world for their wide range of colours and flattering cropped length.  In Australia, you can purchase these cardigans from Your One Stop Pinup Shop for AU$39 each.  I now have four of these cardigans in my collection – a pale green, a mid green, a magenta, and a royal blue.  I like the short length and the cropped sleeves as they don’t drown out your outfit.  As an Australian size 16, I can wear sizes Medium and Large in MAK cardigans, so make sure you pay attention to sizing charts when ordering.  YOSPS has the “Peggy Sue” cropped cardi available in many colours and a range of sizes.  I’ll be taking all four of my MAK cardis to Cooly’s with me, to mix and match with my outfits.

ootd_001

Also coming to Cooly’s with me is this fab magenta skirt from Bonsai Kitten.  I recently reviewed it, and it’s going to form the basis of my Sunday outfit, as it’s comfy enough for the long drive home that afternoon.  Currently on sale for AU$55, it’s available in sizes AU8, 10, 14, 16, 18 and 20 from Your One Stop Pinup Shop.

petal-red-flower-shaped-umbrella-p2536-16876_zoom

Unfortunately, we also have to plan for possible rainy weather at Cooly’s this year, with a massive storm cell pushing over the coast this first weekend of the festival.  For those without a brolly, it may be a wash out!  My own umbrella is printed with Ulysses butterflies and was bought here in my home town, but I did find these pretty “petal” look umbrellas available from UK seller Lindy Bop, for 22 GBPounds (about AU$44).  Available in black or red, something like this is ideal for if the weather continues to deteriorate – though fingers crossed it doesn’t!

25666038-front-2000x1125

If, like me, you need prescription sunglasses to see when you’re walking around, I highly recommend these Colette Dinnigan prescription sunnies from Specsavers.  With a very wearable retro shape and in a classic 50s cream colour, they seem to go with every outfit I try.  They’ll be my preferred sunnies for the whole weekend that I’m at Cooly’s, and at AU$199, minus your healthcare discount if applicable, they’re a very affordable way to protect your eyes and look cool!

Miss Milla Cherry and I plan to do lots of looking around and (hopefully) a fair bit of shopping while we’re at Cooly’s, so we’ll need sturdy vintage-style tote bags to haul all of our finds around in – no way are we walking all the way back to the car to put away every new purchase!  The modern repro bag that most people are familiar with when you mention “tote” and “retro” is the Sun Jellies range.  Luckily, Aussie retailer Gwynnies stocks a wide range of colours and sizes of the Sun Jellies bags, including large and small baskets, and full sized totes.  Ranging from AU$11.99 to AU$39.99 each, the great range of colours and easy-care wipe-clean construction makes these perfect for any day at a festival or markets.

1948

We all know that sunscreen is essential here in Queensland, even in winter, but you might prefer to wear a retro hat to help shade your face when walking around markets all day.  I really love this straw boater hat, available from Pinup Girl Clothing.  It’s very 1950s-England, and I think it’d go great with any lovely frock you choose.  With a grosgrain ribbon and a brim wide enough to shade your face, you can purchase this hat for US$24 (approximately AU$33).  I have a similar one on its way to me courtesy of Ebay, and I’m hoping it arrives in time!

Finally, pull your whole outfit together with the perfect brooch for a day out at a festival – the Picnic Portrait brooch from Erstwilder.  Available in blonde or brunette, she’s a wonderfully proportionate little brooch wearing a wide brimmed hat and sassy sunnies – just like you.  I purchased mine (the blonde, of course) from Ms Katt’s Kustom House for AU$34.95.

 

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in 1950s, Accessories, Australian, Erstwilder, Fashion, Gwynnies, Hearts and Roses, Lindy Bop, Ms Katt's Kustom House, Online Shopping, Opinion, PinupGirlClothing, Pretty Things List, Your One Stop Pinup Shop and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pretty Things List #20

  1. Polly says:

    Love the influence of your ‘scientists eye’. Also glad I’m not the only person who goes ‘I love this top. I think I’ll buy it in EVERY OTHER COLOUR they make! ‘
    Hope you have a great time.

    Like

  2. Vera Gin says:

    Thanks, Polly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

