Item Review: Napoleon Perdis Peep Show Madame Curl Curl Mascara

Phew, what a mouthful!

WIN_20160602_124612

Bare lashes

I picked up this full size mascara by Aussie makeup icon Napoleon Perdis last month at a Terry White chemist in Hervey Bay.  Until recently, I’ve been using a miniature size Napolean Perdis mascara that I’ve been happy with.  As it’s just run out, however, I’ve finally had the chance to open up my new mascara and try it out for you.

WIN_20160602_124636

WIN_20160602_124651

The Madame Curl Curl mascara is, as the name would suggest, marketed as a curling mascara.  The brush is spoon shaped to facilitate this.  I applied the mascara to naked, un-curled lashes, as is my usual practice (I can’t be bothered curling my lashes very often).  I’d already applied my foundation and the rest of my eye makeup, so you can see the difference between my mostly and fully made-up eye area as the mascara was applied.

WIN_20160602_124659

At 10ml, this is a full sized mascara tube and retails for AU$39, making it at the lower-range of price for a “luxury” brand – much cheaper than brands such as Helena Rubenstein or Elizabeth Arden, but about ten dollars more per tube than brands such as Max Factor or L’Oreal.  I was fortunate enough to get my tube on sale for $16.

WIN_20160602_124750

Mascara applied on one eye, upper lashes only

WIN_20160602_124835

Mascara on both eyes, upper lashes only- silly facial expression optional

The formulation was pleasant, going on easily and smoothly.  The initial colour payoff was great, with my lashes going inky dark with a single application.  They also immediately appeared longer without being spidery.

WIN_20160602_124830

I’d agree with the marketing – this mascara did help curl my lashes noticeably, and I’m very happy with this mascara over all.

WIN_20160602_124853

You can purchase Napoleon Perdis products from Terry White Chemists and some Target stores in Australia, or purchase directly from the website.

Any questions about this or any other products I’m wearing in these photos?  Drop me a comment!

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in 1950s, Australian, beauty, Item Review, Online Shopping, Opinion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

