Item Review: Lady Vintage Eloise Dress in Teal Butterfly

I recently purchased a couple of dresses from Australian online retailer Wild Kitty Clothing, one of which was this beautiful Eloise dress from Lady Vintage/Lady V London.

SONY DSC

Made in London, the Eloise features a shorter style skirt, coming in at the bottom of the knee on my 5’2″/158cm frame.

SONY DSC

The skirt is full enough to take a thin petticoat, though you’ll need to make sure you have a short petticoat in order for it not to peek out below the hemline of the skirt. ย For these photos, I wore a Spin Dance Australia thin two-layer petticoat tucked up high above my waist.

SONY DSC

 

The boat neckline means you won’t accidentally show off your cleavage in this dress, making it suitable to events like weddings or even for wearing to work.

SONY DSC

The stretch sateen fabric is comfortable and looks good, with the popular butterfly print always one of Lady Vintage London’s real winners. ย Because it’s a cotton sateen, the dress is unlined, which doesn’t detract from the quality.

SONY DSC

I was a little worried when I bought the dress that the sleeves might be tight on my generously sized upper arms, but thankfully they fit fine, and I do like the look of the dress with the sleeves included.

SONY DSC

The dress fastens with an invisible zip up the back, which I was not able to fully do up on my own – you’ll probably need a helping set of hands to do this dress up, unless you’re a lot more flexible than I am!

SONY DSC

For these photos, I paired my dress with butterfly hair clips from Lovisa, “Robbies” shoes from BAIT, and a neckscarf, also from Wild Kitty Clothing, along with Splendette bangles and a parasol from Pinup Girl Clothing.

SONY DSC

I bought my dress for AU$99, but Wild Kitty only currently has this dress available in a size 10 on their website. ย I’m wearing a size UK18, which caters for a 44 inch bust and a 36 inch waist.

SONY DSC

If you wear a size UK16, there’s one of these dresses left for sale on the Lady Vintage website, for 40 GBPounds (about AU$80).

SONY DSC

Otherwise, you can pick up the Eloise dress in one of twelve other prints from the Lady Vintage website, or pick up the teal butterfly print in one of several other dress styles.

SONY DSC

Or, if you are happy to purchase from a New Zealand retailer, you can get the Eloise in teal butterfly print in sizes 10 – 18 from Rockabilly Lane for NZ$109.95.

SONY DSC

Many thanks to Miss Milla Cherry for being today’s photographer!

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in 1950s, Accessories, Fashion, Item Review, Lady Vintage London, Online Shopping, Opinion, PinupGirlClothing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Item Review: Lady Vintage Eloise Dress in Teal Butterfly

  1. Beautiful dress on you! I was going to say yesterday this dress is a little shorter! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vera Gin says:

      Thank you! Yeah, it’s tricky making a standard petticoat fit underneath the hem, lengthwise! I think I’ll need to invest in a short petti just for this and another dress I have that’s similarly short.

      Like

  2. Polly says:

    I think I met the Rockabilly Lane people at the vintage fair in Matakana last Labour weekend. Gorgeous dress!

    Like

Leave a Reply

