This Week in my Life: 2-8 May 2016

I’ve had SUCH a busy week this week, during which:

  • I finished my last residential school for this uni term

I spent four days last week in Rockhampton doing Terrestrial Botany res school, and four days this week doing one for Microbiology.  For those of you who don’t know, a residential school is  multi-day, intensive, all day lab, field or class sessions for a uni course during which you cram in as much practical and theoretical stuff as possible.  I was especially pleased with my time in Microbiology, as I got 99 out of 100 for my practical skills tests.

 

  • I went to a pinup picnic with friends

Monday was a public holiday here for Labor Day, so my friend Alex, with whom I stayed in Rockhampton, organised a pinup picnic at the Rockhampton Botanical Gardens.  We had a good little turn out, and we enjoyed some delicious home made slices, biscuits and rum balls, along with non-alcoholic sparkling wine!  After lunch, we went for a walk around the zoo, where we saw crocodiles, monkeys, emus, kangaroos, wombats and koalas.  The only downside was that despite being autumn, it was still so hot!  Thanks Alex for organising a great time 🙂

13062079_10154121982384664_8278241874980300492_n

 

  • I won a pinup pageant!

Early Saturday morning, I set off for Maryborough where I met up with the lovely Miss Milla Cherry.  We drove for a couple of hours south to Rick’s Garage in Palmwoods, where the second annual Time Warp Festival was being held.  This festival celebrates all things retro, with an emphasis on classic cars and bikes.  There were plenty of retro and vintage market stalls too, where I picked up some vintage gloves and some cute hair bows, and Miss Milla Cherry got some vintage gloves and a vintage dress – for just $10!  After buying milkshakes from the Scouts’ food stall, we wandered about taking photos with our favourite cars and checking out the live music.  At 3:00 o’clock, Miss Milla Cherry and I both took part in the pinup pageant in which we were lucky enough to be finalists.  We each had a chance to pose and walk around as our short biography was read, then it was time for the four judges to choose the winner.  I was absolutely blown away when they said my name!  This is the first proper, big pageant I’ve been in (and only the third pageant of any sort) and it was such a wonderful surprise to be announced as Miss Time Warp 2016.  Miss Time Warp 2015, Miss Fifi La Rouge, handed over the winner’s sash to me, and I had photos taken with some classic cars.  All the finalists will be getting a goody bag in the mail, and I’ll be sent a prize pack as well, which is very exciting.  I’m looking forward to being a judge and handing over the sash at next year’s festival!  Many thanks to Greta, the organiser of the pageant.

13177100_10157033833905438_3631768059965935843_n

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in 1950s, Australian, Liveable Vintage, Opinion, style, Vintage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This Week in my Life: 2-8 May 2016

  1. Polly says:

    Once again, congratulations on an epic week.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

