This Week in my Life: 18-24 April 2016

I’ve had a good week, over all, during which:

  • I got my hair cut into a long middy

For those of you who aren’t aware, the “middy” is a style of haircut popular during the 40s and 50s.  It involves layering the hair and shaping the hair so that the from ear to ear, the hair makes a distinctive “U” shape, with the longest hair at the centre, over the back, and the hair shortest at the front, near the ears.  Middies can be any length from chin length to mid back, and the shortest part of the hair cut can be anything from eyebrow length to chin length.  On Friday, I got my hair cut into a “Femme Fatale”, or “long middy”.  The shortest parts of my hair, at the front, are chin length, while the longest part, mid back, is a few inches below my shoulders.  Middy cuts are great if you style your hair in vintage looks, because it is easier to curl and style into retro styles.  Last night I wet set my hair, and the results this morning were very nice.  Here’s my hair today, with no pomade or teasing, just a quick brush out:

Wet set middy

 

  • I got some great scores at a local antiques and collectibles fair

I wasn’t there super early to pick over the best bargains, but I did get three lovely items for my collection.  First, a pair of vintage pink gloves (and yes, they do fit) for AU$10.  Second, a double strand of shell-based pearls from Japan (unused and still in their original box with their original tag attached to the pearls) for AU$22.  And finally, a Stratton powder compact and matching lipstick holder/mirror (both unused and in their original box) for AU$40.  This last one was a particular win, as the set was priced at AU$55, but the lady had sold me a brooch last week at a market in town, and was so pleased by my style of dressing that she did me a deal 🙂  Considering that I saw a lot of damaged, well worn compacts for sale for upward of AU$30, getting my unused set for just AU$40 was quite a steal.

 

  • I packed for ten days in Rockhampton

I have to be in Rockhampton for ten days of compulsory uni residential school (practicals) over the next two weeks.  Luckily for me, a pair of very good friends of mine live in Rocky and are always happy to put me up!  I’ll be covering microbiology lab work and terrestrial botany field work while I’m there, which should be intense but worthwhile.  But oh my, the amount of stuff I need to take with me!  Plant presses, boxes of dried plant samples, dissection kits, field boots….good thing I have a big suitcase.  I am not looking forward to lugging it all onto the train, but I am looking forward to spending time with my friends.

  • I got 100% on a uni assignment

The first of my uni assignments for the term was due a few weeks ago, and to cut a long story short, I just got my results back for it and I got 100%!  Which is a lovely boost to help me feel that yes, I can get through the rest of the term successfully!

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in Australian, Liveable Vintage, Opinion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

