Item Review: TARDIS Brooch from Atomic Lucite

12821445_1744233175796090_8349854057589419961_n

I recently stumbled upon a company called Atomic Lucite, trading out of Chicago, USA since April 2015.  When I saw that they had *sparkly* TARDIS brooches, I knew I had to contact them ASAP to place an order!

SONY DSC

For those of you who don’t follow Doctor Who, the TARDIS is the Doctor’s spaceship, permanently stuck in disguise as a 1950s British police box.  I’ve seen a few different TARDIS brooches around, and was always a little disappointed by the fact that they invariably were the wrong sort of shade of blue; were sort of misshapen; and cost too much for me.

SONY DSC

So you can imagine my delight at spotting this brooch, in the perfect shade of TARDIS blue AND with sparkles, PLUS it was exactly the right dimensions to look perfect?  When I found it it was only US$10 (about AU$13.15) to purchase?  Heaven.  While I got my own TARDIS brooch for free thanks to the generosity of the Atomic Lucite team, I bought two more TARDIS brooches with my own money as presents for two dear friends of mine.

SONY DSC

This brooch has a locking c-clasp on the back and the pin runs lengthways down the brooch back.  I was a little concerned that this would mean it would flop from side to side, but due to the width of the brooch, it stays sitting straight without any problems.

SONY DSC

In these pictures I chose to wear my TARDIS as a pin in a neck scarf, paired with my Folter anatomical dress, but you could wear it as a normal brooch or even as an accessory on a bag strap.  My male friend who is receiving one from me is thinking of wearing his as a large lapel or tie pin.

SONY DSC

Since US shipping is a little pricey to Australia at about US$13 (about AU$17.15) regardless of whether you buy one or a couple of items, I bought a few other brooches at the same time – the red sparkly lips brooch featured in Pretty Things List #16, and this atomic brooch to wear to my science lab classes at uni.

To my delight, when they arrived I found that the Atomic Lucite team of Angela and Melanie had included five pairs of earrings for free as a bonus with my order – one pair for each brooch I ordered.

2016-03-24 14.27.17.jpg

If you wish to enquire as to the price of an item, or submit an order, go to the Atomic Lucite Facebook page and message the team.  They’ll quickly let you know the price of your order in US dollars and will give you instructions for paying using Paypal, which is easy and safe.  Your items will arrive safely packaged in gift wrapped boxes.

SONY DSC

So if you’re a Doctor Who fan, or just a fan of reproduction lucite-style brooches, earrings and cardigan clips, check out Atomic Lucite and nab yourself a bargain!

Please note that while I received one TARDIS brooch as a gift for review, my words and opinions are my own and are genuine.

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in 1950s, Accessories, Fashion, Item Review, Online Shopping, Opinion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Item Review: TARDIS Brooch from Atomic Lucite

  1. Such a wonderful company to give you that brooch for free and then to throw in free earrings after you ordered more items! That was so wonderfully nice of them! It looks like they have some really cute designs too! And the price definitely sounds right! 😀 I’m going to have to check them out! Thanks for posting about them!

    Like

  2. Polly says:

    Definitely a very cool brooch, and they sound like a great company, obviously passionate about what they do.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

