This Week in my Life: 29 February – 6 March 2016

It’s been a hot, sweaty week, during which:

  • I celebrated my birthday

The first of March was my birthday, and I was fortunate enough to be able to celebrate it twice – once with my family, and once with my best friend.  Nothing fancy – just  a meal out with people I love.  This birthday marks the start of a big year for me, and I’m hoping it’s the start of a mostly positive year.

  • I prepared to start back at uni

On Monday I start back for my final year of my Environmental Science degree.  This is the second Bachelor’s degree I’ve studied – the first lead to a short lived career in a field that didn’t suit me at all, and which was partly responsible for a massive mental health breakdown a year and a bit ago.  I’m trying to be confident that this time will be different – that this is the career and study path in which I’m going to succeed.  I have six courses left to do before my degree is finished, and my first classes commence on Monday afternoon.

  • I applied for two new jobs

Part of my attempts to improve my life and create a future for myself is based on my growing ability to work a part time job.  After many years of worsening mental health and a massive breakdown in 2014, the very act of going to work a couple of times a week is a hard-won victory against depression and anxiety.  I’m not always well enough, but the days that I can work help to remind me that I’m not completely broken.

So it’s a huge victory for me that I felt confident enough to even apply for two part time jobs, in the hope of landing one of them and moving from my current menial job into something a bit more challenging.

  • I came down with a cold (yuck)

Summer colds just plain suck, and this one is hanging around with the intent of making me miserable.  Sore throat, sinus headaches, congestion and fatigue are all affecting me, but I’m hoping to be feeling better soon!

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in Australian, Opinion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This Week in my Life: 29 February – 6 March 2016

  1. Happy birthday and good luck with your job applications! I hope the year at uni goes well too! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

