Pinup by the Beach – Part 1 (Review of the Voodoo Vixen Joni Dress)

On a Sunday morning two weeks ago, Miss Milla Cherry and I headed to the beach early to take photos before it got too hot.  Unfortunately, the summer sun beat us to it and I ended up getting a bit sunburned!

SONY DSC

My first outfit for the day was the Voodoo Vixen “Joni” dress in size 1XL.  I paired it with white sandals from Rivers, a vintage sailor hat bought in London, red beads from Your One Stop Pinup Shop, and swapped out the belt it came with for a red patent belt from Lindy Bop.  I also wore the Erstwilder Round the Twist lighthouse brooch, and a white petticoat from Spin Dance Australia.  My parasol was bought at Avenell Brothers.

SONY DSC

The Joni is a lovely nautical print dress with cap sleeves and an included same-fabric belt.  Falling to mid calf on me (I’m 5’2″/158cm), it has a skirt full enough to easily take a petticoat underneath.  The sweetheart neckline is flattering and doesn’t show too much cleavage.

SONY DSC

The Joni fastens with a zipper at the back and I find I’m able to do it up and undo it by myself with no problems.  Being a 97% cotton, 3% elastane stretch cotton mix, it’s a suitable weight for summers in Queensland.

SONY DSC

I’m wearing a size 1XL, which has a 42 inch bust and 37.5 inch waist.  It fits well, apart from being a little loose in the waist, but that is easily fixed by wearing a belt.  The Joni is available in sizes XS to 4XL, catering for bust sizes from 32 to 51 inches, and waist sizes from 25 to 46.5 inches.  The Joni retails for 65 GB Pounds on the Voodoo Vixen website, or you can buy it from Aussie retailer Gwynnies for AU$89.

SONY DSC

Miss Milla Cherry and I found ourselves getting blown away on the rock wall!  The water looked beautiful and I wished I’d bought my togs with me for a swim.

SONY DSC

There were a few people enjoying the beach, and we watched them from the esplanade boardwalk.

SONY DSC

After taking our photos at Bargara Beach, we drove the short distance to The Basin, an ocean swimming hole man-made from local volcanic stone.  Here we took some more photos, trying our best to keep out of the sun when possible!

SONY DSC

Keep your eyes peeled for Part Two!

Don’t forget to enter my giveaway competition – closing this Friday!  

 

 

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pinup by the Beach – Part 1 (Review of the Voodoo Vixen Joni Dress)

  1. That dress is so cute on you lovely lady! 🙂

    Like

  2. Polly says:

    Ah, Bagara Beach! Yes, you should have taken your togs, but c’est la vie. At least you looked fabulous, and I loved the parasol: the perfect finishing touch.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

