This Week in my Life: 4-10 January 2016

It’s been an up and down sort of week, in which:

  • I went to beautiful Woodgate Beach with my mum and brother

One of my favourite beaches for its long kms of white sand, quiet location and clear waters, Woodgate Beach is a hidden treasure. We went swimming, had chips, and finished with an ice cream. Not a bad day at all!

  • I finished sewing a pleated full skirt

This was my fourth sewing project since starting to learn just before Christmas, and it’s the one I’m happiest with so far. I’ll definitely be using this simple but nice pleated pattern again, maybe next time with a lovely border print fabric. I’m happy to wear this skirt out and about and I think the poppy print cotton sateen really suits the style, don’t you?  It took me a couple of afternoon sewing sessions to complete.

SONY DSC

  • I read a book about looks that changed and shaped the 1950s

From nylon stockings to the bikini; from Sophia Loren’s waistline to the steel of stilettos, this book covered fifty fashion looks and people who shaped the 50s. Part of a series that also covers the 60s and 70s, I spotted it by chance at the local library and found it a short but interesting read.

image.jpg

  • I started back at work after the Christmas break

On the negative side, no more holidays…on the positive side, money to pay bills etc!

  • I made a list of all the pinup pageants I’d like to enter this year

For two reasons – so I can be organised with money saved up, travel organised etc, and also so I can make sure to enter by the cut off dates.  Unfortunately, they’re mostly in Brisbane, but I’m hoping to be able to carpool with my pinup friend Miss Milla Cherry for some fun girls’ days out 🙂

  • My depression tried to strike me down

Not much to say about this, other than that I’m still here and still fighting to improve my mental health. It’s a difficult path but I persevere!

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in Opinion, Sewing, style and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

