New Year’s Eve

This year, I did something that I never, ever do – organised to actually go out for New Year’s Eve.  Swallowing down my anxiety, I arranged with my pinup friend Miss Milla Cherry to attend a Gatsby themed dinner in the city of Maryborough.

DSCN2554

My parents were good enough to drive me to Maryborough, where I stayed with Miss Milla Cherry for the night.  We spent the afternoon chatting and getting ready: Miss Milla in her gorgeous gold beaded art deco dress, me in my sparkly black dress and vintage mink (it was my grandmother’s).  We tweaked our usual makeup routines to fit the late ’20s aesthetic – cupid’s bow lips in dark reds, shadowed eyes, thinner brows.

DSCN2557

I chose to wear:

  • A long strand of irregular pearls (vintage)
  • A necklace of small pearl and jet beads (Kagi)
  • A diamante head piece (Lovisa)
  • A sparkly black dress (City Chic)
  • A mink (vintage)
  • A pearl bracelet (Kagi)
  • Black patent leather heels (Red Ginger)
  • Black velvet handbag (vintage)

Thus, I was able to put together a 1920s look without having to purchase anything – it all came out of my existing closet.

DSCN2556

DSCN2572

Miss Milla and I had fun drinking champagne and taking photos in the garden in the late afternoon.  Then, it was time to go.

image

The dinner was held in a nearby Sports Club.  It was nice to see that most of the other guests had dressed up for the occasion – even the men.  Sequins, feathers and bobbed wigs were everywhere.

The meal was quite good, and the cocktails were even better!

DSCN2565

We ended the night at Miss Milla’s place by watching the Marilyn Monroe flick “How to Marry a Millionaire” and listening to the fireworks go off down the street.

image

The next day, Miss Milla drove me home, and we said goodbye – until we meet up again in a few weeks to photograph a seaside photo shoot for our blogs!

DSCN2579

What did you do for New Year’s?  Did you have the chance to dress up?

 

 

 

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in Accessories, Australian, City Chic, Fashion, Liveable Vintage, OOTD, style, Vintage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Year’s Eve

  1. Camilla says:

    Wow…we take some bloody awesome photos, I’m really looking forward to our beach-side photo adventure! 🙂

    Like

  2. Polly says:

    You look amazing, and I’m so impressed that you were able to put that look together with what you had in your wardrobe. I’m going to see if I can sort out something at least vaguely 1920s’ish for the premier of the Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries Movie (which, knowing my luck, probably won’t screen in my town, but I can dream dammit!). So glad you had a fabulous New Year’s Eve.

    Like

    • Vera Gin says:

      Oh, thanks so much! Yes, no money for new things = make the most of what you have at home! I can’t wait for the Miss Fisher film to come out and I have my fingers crossed that they show it in my town, too!

      Like

  3. Alisa says:

    That’s so cool! We don’t have parties like that in Finland! I wish there was so I could go out but I enjoy staying at home because there’s not much to do here 😀 You look so pretty and that dress is a dream! Everything that sparkles rocks!

    Like

    • Vera Gin says:

      Hi Alisa,
      Thanks for taking the time to comment! Aw, glad you like my and my friend’s outfits for the night – we felt pretty 🙂
      Sorry you didn’t get to do anything for NYE – maybe you can organise a party at home next year?

      Like

Leave a Reply

