Item Review: Lindy Bop “Cynthia” Dress in Pink Hibiscus

During the US-led Black Friday sales recently, I had to choose which retailer with whom I would spend my small budget.  Because of their massive range and 50% off offer, I chose UK brand Lindy Bop.

SONY DSC

One of the five dresses I purchased was the Cynthia in pink hibiscus.  I love tropical themes and wanted more tropical dresses in my wardrobe, so choosing this lovely hibiscus and ginger print was a no brainer.

SONY DSC

The Cynthia is perfect for shorter girls like me (I’m 5’2″/ 158cm tall), falling to just below the knee.  The flared skirt is an A-line and is sufficiently voluminous to fit a two-tier petticoat underneath.

SONY DSC

The Cynthia features wide, slightly gathered strap sleeves that naturally sit off the shoulder on my frame, exposing your decolletage with a sweetheart neckline and adding to the summer-appropriateness of this dress.  I wore a bra with matching patterned straps for these photos, but next time I’ll remember to wear a strapless bra.

SONY DSC

The Cynthia does up with a hook and eye and a zip up the back and I found I was able to get it zipped and unzipped myself without assistance, which is always a bonus!

SONY DSC

The Cynthia is half lined, with the bodice and sleeves lined in polyester.  The dress itself is medium weight stretch cotton, being 97% cotton and 3% elastane.  This makes it comfortable to wear and cool enough for the hot, humid days of sub-tropical Queensland.

SONY DSC

You could play up the pink, white, green, or pale orange colours of this dress in your choice of accessory colours, and I chose to accessorise with a pink Maggie Tang petticoat, a pink hibiscus hair flower and necklace from Your One Stop Pinup Shop, my green palm tree brooch from Erstwilder, and light green sandals from Miz Mooz.

SONY DSC

The Cynthia is available in sizes UK8 – 26, being AU6 – 24.  As with other UK brands such as Collectif, I found that I needed to size up to a UK18 for this dress (I usually wear an AU16).  The Cynthia is usually ~AU$63, but it is currently on sale for AU$43.64.

 

 

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in 1950s, Accessories, Australian, Erstwilder, Fashion, Item Review, Lindy Bop, Online Shopping, OOTD, Your One Stop Pinup Shop and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Item Review: Lindy Bop “Cynthia” Dress in Pink Hibiscus

  1. Camilla says:

    I just love this print, with the pink hibiscus flower over it! Wonderful accessories as well! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. miss says:

    hi, sorry this is kina old, but how do you find the maggie tang petticoat? is it stiff or soft?
    thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

