This Week in my Life… 7 – 13 December 2015

It’s been a pretty busy week this week, during which:

  • A man came and took photographs inside my flat

Not for anything exciting or cool, I’m afraid, but because the rental flat I live in (half of an old Queenslander house) is going on the market.  I’m a little freaked out that the potential new owners may not want to keep on the current tenants: I don’t want to have to move.  I’m settled here and I like my flat and its location and price.  But I guess I’ll just have to wait and see.

  • My Pinup Girl Clothing military dress arrived in the post

This is a dress I’ve wanted since it was for sale on PUG’s website, about two years ago.  I missed my chance to buy it then, and I’ve never seen it available for resale anywhere since…until last week, when it popped up in one of the Facebook Buy/Swap/Sell pages I’m a member of – and in my size!  I jumped on it, and the lovely seller was kind enough to wait until my payday to let me pay.  It arrived late this week, and I wore it out on Saturday.  It fits perfectly and (I think) looks really good on me, so I’m very happy!

December 12

  • It rained

This might not sound like a newsworthy event, but 80% of Queensland is currently in the grip of the worst drought in history.  Farmers and graziers are losing their stock, crops and properties and going broke.  Little western Queensland towns are becoming deserted as families are forced to pack up and leave.  It’s a serious and concerning issue.  So even though the rain was not as widespread or as consistent as we would like, it was a start in the right direction.

nov1.gif

  • I started my Christmas shopping

I managed to find a suitable present for my lovely friend in New Zealand, which marks the start of my Christmas shopping this year.  I’ve just finished wrapping it, ready to drop into Monday’s post, and I’ve finally got some ideas about what to get my family members.  Not before time!

SONY DSC

Merry Christmas from Australia!

  • I attended a social activity with actual real life people

My mental illness can keep me from enjoying or, very often, even attending social activities, no matter how formal or informal, small or large they may be.  But I actually managed to RSVP “yes” to a casual board games night with a friend and his friends and housemates…and I actually turned up and enjoyed myself!  Seriously a big bonus in my books.  My played a fantastic board game called Call of Cthulu, and I came second.  I’m really glad I went.

  • I got my hair cut

Nothing dramatic – just two inches or so off the ends, and some layering cut back in.  It feels much lighter, though, and sits better than it did before, so I’m happy.  $24 well spent.

WIN_20151207_142540

What happened in your life this week?  Are you ready for Christmas or barely started preparing?

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in Australian, Hair, Liveable Vintage, Online Shopping, Opinion, style and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This Week in my Life… 7 – 13 December 2015

  1. Polly says:

    Sounds like you’ve got a lot going on. Here’s hoping you get to stay in your flat. I’m looking forward to the present and glad you got some rain! Well done for getting out and about too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

