Item Review: The Collectif “Hilda” Wiggle Skirt

I’ve never really been one for pencil or wiggle skirt styles – always super aware of my chunky thighs, I stick to swing skirts that skim rather than highlight my legs and bottom.

Hilda_Skirt_Red_A (2).jpg

But when I recently made a purchase of several cheap items from Collectif’s ebay shop, I saw possibilities in a simple red wiggle skirt called “Hilda”.  I had visions of myself channeling rockabilly girls, with my hair in a bandanna and my attitude all fired up.

Hilda Skirt Black new

The Hilda comes to several inches below knee length on me (5’2″/158cm tall) which is perfect, as I don’t like showing my knees.  The length is flattering and the invisible back zip leaves no weird bumps as some skirt zips can do.

The Hilda features three large colour-coordinated buttons down the front of each hip, lending a slightly nautical look to the skirt that you can play up with a sailor blouse, as I’ve done here.

SONY DSC

Available in red or black, the Hilda is simple enough to be used as the basis for a versatile range of looks, from pure rockabilly, through sailor girl, to day to day office work suitable.

November 12

The Hilda sits at the natural high waist, which is great for showcasing the narrowest point of your torso, especially if you’re an hourglass or pear shape.

November 22

The Hilda is really comfortable and – unlike a cheaper thin cotton pencil skirt that I’ve owned in the past, where sitting down felt like it would split seams if you weren’t careful – is made from a stretch cotton of decent thickness that smooths over your curves and is super comfortable in which to sit and move, with a 98% Cotton 2% Elastane mix.

The Hilda is available in sizes UK 6 to 22 (approximately Australian sizes 4 to 20) and retails for 30 British pounds, which is about AU$63 at current exchange rates.  Alternatively, try searching online buy/swap/sell sites on Facebook, or look on ebay.  My purchase was made from Collectif’s own ebay shop, which is regularly updated with different stock – some items with minor faults, others flawless.

Despite still preferring my swing styles, I definitely like my Hilda wiggle skirt and I’ll be interested in buying more Collectif pencil styles in the future.

cooltext140589655055117

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in 1940s, 1950s, Collectif, Fashion, Item Review, Online Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Item Review: The Collectif “Hilda” Wiggle Skirt

  1. Camilla says:

    I love Collectif, I own quite a number of items of clothing from them! That skirt is so lovely on you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

