My Everyday Makeup Products

So many bloggers seem to have access to the top makeup brands – the $100 foundations, the captital-city-flagship-store lipsticks, the limited edition mascaras.

But what do you use when you live in a small city in the subtropics?

SONY DSC

I’ve put together this post showing the products I use every (or almost every) day, which are primarily sourced from Target Australia and Priceline chemists, and thus are accessible and affordable for readers living in a wide variety of towns and cities across Australia.

SONY DSC

So without any further ado, here’s my everyday makeup.

Base

SONY DSC

I use one of two products, depending on how much coverage I feel I need on a particular day.  For lighter coverage, I use Garnier’s Anti-Ageing Miracle Skin Cream.  It’s one of those products that goes on white and transforms into your skin tone as you smooth it in.  It’s a lightweight texture, it smells nice and fresh, and it is SPF15+, all of which makes it suitable for sunny Queensland.  In addition, it contains an “anti-ageing complex of 7 active ingredients: LHA, Pro-Retinol, Vitamin C, Vitamin B3, firming peptides, anti-oxidant ginger.”  At AU$19.99 for a 50mL tube that seems to last forever, it’s a great product for hot summer days.

SONY DSC

Alternatively, if I need more coverage, like if my mild rosacea is showing up, I use Maybelline Super Stay 24H Waterproof Powder.  This goes on with a sponge (included in the compact along with a mirror) and can be built up in areas where you need more coverage.  I wouldn’t say it’s completely waterproof, but it holds up to the hideous sweating that comes with highly humid summer days in Queensland way better than any other foundation I’ve come across.  I wear shade 10 Ivory, which is the palest of three shades in which this powder is available.  It can be worn over the top of a liquid foundation, or by itself.  Normally AU$18.95, it is currently on sale at Priceline for AU$13.26.

SONY DSC

For concealing under eye darkness I use NYX Dark Circle Concealer from Target Australia.  It has a slightly orange tone to counteract the purple tones of under eye circles, and uses kaolin clay in its formulation to help it stay put all day.  The little twist-top pot lasts for a long time, and you can use either a concealer brush or just your finger to apply and blend it.  I use shade Fair.  It’s available for AU$11.95.

Blush and Bronzer

SONY DSC

For the last few years, I’ve been using Bourjois blush pots in two different colours (depending on the season): Rose de Jaspe, and Rose d’Or.  These little blush pots come with a lid mirror and a shaped natural bristle brush, plus the powder smells like roses, which adds a little feeling of luxury when applying.  They last forever – I’m still using the ones I bought over three years ago – and come in a dozen shades.  I got mine for AU$20 from Priceline.

SONY DSC

I don’t wear a lot of bronzer, as it tends to look muddy on my fair skin, but I have got into the habit of wearing a very light brush of bronzer in a “3” shape from my temples onto my cheekbones and the edge of my jawline.  The bronzer I use for this is Physician’s Formula Miner Wear Talc-Free Mineral Correcting Bronzer.  I use the shade Light Bronzer, and I like the fact that it combines pink and bronze tones with a slight amount of micro-fine shimmer.  It goes on really lightly with the included brush and mirror and and doesn’t muddify my skin.  It no longer seems to be available, but similar Physicians Formula bronzers are available at Priceline for AU$29.95.

Eyes

SONY DSC

I don’t always wear eyeshadow, but when I do, it’s usually from this palette of shimmery neutrals.

By Priceline brand Models Prefer, the Nude Eyeshadow Palette contains ten neutral tones, some shimmery, some satiny, with a large mirror built into the lid and a dual ended applicator included.  The neturals are warm toned and suit blue eyes particularly well.  For just AU$12.99, it’s a great value palette.

SONY DSC

The eyeliner pen that I keep coming back to time after time is the Maybelline Master Graphic Liquid Liner.  It features a triangular chisel shaped tip that dispenses liquid like a felt tip, and is thus easy to control for a thin or bold line.  As long as you remember to store the pen tip down, the ink dispenses as a solid, opaque black – not a disappointing wishy washy shade like so many felt tip liners.  I often get mine on sale and store them until I need to replace my current one, but they’re affordable enough at full price, at AU$14.95 from Priceline.

SONY DSC

I tend to swing between a couple of different mascaras, but my current one is the new Rimmel Supercurler mascara in black.  Featuring a curved brush and a non-clumpy, nicely opaque formula, this mascara gives me the length and volume that I want.  It does seem to have an effect on the curl of your lashes, though I still use a standard eyelash curler for special occasions.  A decent mascara, it retails for AU$17.95 at Priceline.

SONY DSC

I never used brow products until about four or five months ago, when these simple and quick brow brush products came onto the market.  The Maybelline Brow Drama Sculpting Brow Mascara is available in clear, medium brown or dark brown – I use medium brown, which adds just enough colour to my pale brown eyebrows to give them extra definition without looking out of place.  You brush the ball-shaped brush from the end to the start of your brows, adding colour, then smooth it back the other way, setting the hairs into place.  It’s quick and looks natural (I’ve never been much of a fan of obviously painted on brows) and I’m really pleased with it, at AU$12.95 from Priceline.

Lips

SONY DSC

When I want a pink lip, this is the lipstick I go to most often.  Revlon Colorburst (this one is shade “Lollipop”) are no longer available, but Revlon produces similar colours and formulations in their current range.  The flattened shape of the lipstick bullet is perfect for applying without a lip brush, and the light, creamy formula goes on smoothly.  I was lucky enough to get mine for one dollar when they were being sold off, but Revlon lipsticks normally retail for around AU$21.95 at Priceline.

SONY DSC

My go to red lipstick at the moment is a liquid matte lipstick in a wonderful blue-based red shade: the Savvy Ultra Matte Lip Colour in Miss Monroe.  Savvy is one of Priceline’s own budget brands, but this lipstick is great.  It requires minimal touch ups and is easy and smooth to apply.  It doesn’t have the full longevity of some of the more expensive liquid lipsticks, but it’s a very affordable alternative that performs pretty well.  Available in five shades, it’s just AU$7.99 from Priceline.

cooltext140589655055117

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in Australian, beauty, Item Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

