Item Review: Sugar Baby Vita+Skin Super Serum

I’ve always liked the cute, retro-themed packaging and nice scents of Sugar Baby products – my first lipstick was a Sugar Baby product.  So I was interested to see a new Sugar Baby “VITA+SKIN” range on sale at Priceline.

banner4

The packaging was appealing, as always – pink and cream, with palm tree print.  Very well suited to sub-tropical Queensland!  I ummed and errred, looking at all the products in the range, before finally deciding to buy just one to try out first, with the option of buying other products if I liked the first one.

sb-logo

The item I chose is the Super Serum, which is marketed as a “high potency nutrient complex”.  The packaging promises a mix of tropical vitamins and antioxidants, including organic coconut water and Aussie Kakadu Plum, to hydrate and provide anti-ageing properties.

It was promising to see that this product is:

  • Paraben-free, with no artifical fragrances
  • Petrochemical free
  • No animal testing (and vegan friendly)
  • Made in Australia

I’m particularly in favour of supporting Australian products, supporting companies that are against animal testing, and supporting products that avoid petrochemicals (the production of which has a huge negative effect on the environment)

SONY DSC

In addition, my paternal grandfather grew up on the family cocoa and coconut plantation in Samoa, so using coconut products for beauty and skincare has always appealed to me.

Inside the cardboard tube packaging, the product comes in a recyclable 30mL glass vial with a rubber dropper.  The natural-source fragrance is mild enough to be pleasant, not overpowering, and is a lovely, tropical scent of oranges, pineapple and coconut.

SONY DSC

The instructions on the bottle say to put one or two drops of serum on your fingertips and massage it into your face twice a day after cleansing.  The pleasant scent and texture makes this enjoyable, and I like the fact that the ingredient list is quite simple, with vitamins B3 and C helping to repair your skin.  I haven’t been using it for long enough yet to give you a verdict on the long term effectiveness of the product, but I’ll post back in a month or so with my opinion.  From having used it for the last week, I can say that it does seem to have a positive effect on the hydration levels of my skin, with my face seeming a bit smoother and softer.  The mild tropical scent improves my mood in the morning, too.

vitaskin

I got my serum from Priceline on special for about AU$12, but it normally retails for AU$16.95.  Also in the range are products such as face cream, body oil, hair treatment, lip balm, all-purpose balm, body scrub and soap, all for under AU$17.

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in Australian, beauty, Item Review, Opinion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Item Review: Sugar Baby Vita+Skin Super Serum

  1. Pingback: Brand Review: Kosmea Skincare | Vera Gin Vintage

Leave a Reply

