Item Review: Lady Vintage London Hepburn Dress in Enchanting Birds Print (Blue Azure)

Welcome to my review of the beautiful Hepburn dress in Blue Azure Enchanting Birds print, by Lady Vintage London.

AW15HEPBURNenchantingbirdsblue_Web

When I first unwrapped this dress, I’m pretty certain my mouth dropped open in a “wow”.  And when I excitedly showed it to my mum the next day, she remarked on how beautiful the print was and how classic the design.

The Hepburn dress is an iconic design for Lady Vintage, while the Enchanting Birds print is new for Autumn/Winter 2015 and features hummingbirds and flowers on a bright blue background.

Traveler Z 14

An unlined sateen cotton, the dress has enough weight to fall nicely from the waist, while still being cool enough to be suitable for an Australian summer.  The sleeveless design likewise is season appropriate for our upcoming summer, while the higher neckline makes this dress demure enough for office or formal wear.

Traveler Z 14

With bust darts for shape and a matching black velveteen belt that comes with each Hepburn dress, this fit my 5’2″ tall, curvy body really well.  I found that the waist wasn’t too long or too short, and the fantastically full skirt came to mid calf on me (which is vintage-accurate for the 1950s, by the way).  I wore mine in these photos with a single layer chiffon petticoat underneath for just a bit of volume (also, excuse the lack of makeup and the hair rollers- I was in the process of preparing for a photo shoot for Atomic Beauty Parlour.

Traveler Z 14

It was also a relief to find that I could zip the back up by myself without any help or problems – something that is not always a guarantee with back zipped dresses!

Retailing for AU$107.42 at current exchange rates, this is a quality mid-priced garment that you will be guaranteed to get plenty of wear out of.  I’ve found that its versatility is improved by being a wash and wear item – I find that if I hang mine on the outside line to dry as soon as the washing is finished, the creases fall straight out (no ironing required)!  As someone who dislikes ironing and avoids it wherever possible, this is a great bonus.

Traveler Z 14

If you haven’t bought Lady Vintage before, I’d suggest dropping a message to the friendly staff, detailing your personal measurements and asking for their opinion on which size would fit you best in your chosen item.  I say this because I found that the website’s size finder suggested a dress about a size and a half too big for me.  I think this may be because the size finder errs on the side of caution by suggesting you size up if you’re between sizes.  I did look at the actual size guide later on, and found that it was completely accurate to size.  But if you’re unsure, checking with staff is your best bet for a perfectly fitting dress if you haven’t tried Lady Vintage before.

Traveler Z 14

Luckily for me, the side seams of this dress were stitched in such a way that my clever seamstress mum was able to unstitch them and alter the size of the bust and waist for me, so my dress now fits perfectly.

Traveler Z 14

If you’re after a beautiful, affordable dress that’s made in London, you really can’t do any better than the Lady Vintage Hepburn.  And although it’s available in a multitude of prints (including the Enchanting Birds Noir Black and the Teal Green Butterfly, both of which I’m lusting after), the Enchanting Birds Blue Azure is the perfect summery print with which to start your collection.

Note that while I was fortunate enough to receive this dress as a gift, my reviews remain, as always, truthful and honest.

cooltext140589655055117

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in 1950s, Fashion, Item Review, Online Shopping and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Item Review: Lady Vintage London Hepburn Dress in Enchanting Birds Print (Blue Azure)

  1. Pingback: Behind the Scenes of a Photo Shoot: Part 1 – The Preparation | Vera Gin Vintage

Leave a Reply

