Making Hair Flowers and Other Distractions

One of the things my psychologist has got me doing is to try to focus on creative activities when my mood dips dangerously low.  The idea being: my mind can calm down by “switching off” as my hands are kept busy.SONY DSC

I already have a nice jigsaw puzzle and a photo collage project that I use for this purpose, but today I started another new project: making hair flowers.SONY DSC

I bought the flower stems and hair combs from a shop my brother works at, and used my trusty hot glue gun and a pair of pliers to first cut the flower pieces to size, then arrange them and hot glue them to each hair comb.  I made large pink orchid combs, and smaller purple orchid combs, and found it quite relaxing to sit and work away at them.SONY DSC

I’ve decided to sell them on Facebook, for AU$5 for one or two for AU$8 – so if you’re interested, drop me a comment!  I think I’ll buy some more, different flowers tomorrow so I can branch out and create a few different styles 🙂  I really recommend taking up a similar project if you, like me, have anxiety and depression issues!

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in Accessories, Hair and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Hair Flowers and Other Distractions

  1. Polly says:

    Ooohh, pretty!

    I have a real orchid that I’m trying to convince to flower. So far it’s grown a new leaf and some air roots.

    Like

Leave a Reply

