The Blue Water Club Rockabilly Festival

Today I went to the first ever Blue Water Club Rockabilly Festival at Burnett Heads, Queensland.Blue-Water-Beat-Rockabilly-Family-Festival_Web

A friend I first met at a pinup competition a few months ago, Miss Milla Cherry, attended as well, so it was nice to catch up with her and have someone to look around with.  My mum also came to look around for a while, and was kind enough to drop me off and pick me up.

The market stalls were a bit disappointing, but I’m sure they’ll be bigger and better next year if the festival becomes an annual occurrence.  Inside the Blue Water Club, local rockabilly band Slap Beat performed for the crowd, playing a great mix of 50s classics and rock and roll.

Traveler Z 14

Hello, pretty car

 

The show and shine attracted a couple of dozen vintage cars, from a gorgeous 1934 green Ford to Thunderbirds and Mustangs.

Traveler Z 14

Miss Milla and I entered into a Best Retro Outfit competition, which Miss Milla won!  I chose to wear a nautical themed outfit, as the Blue Water Club is located on the river mouth.  It was a good day, over all, and I look forward to seeing it bigger and better next year.SONY DSC

This evening, Miss Milla and I are both attending the Rockabilly Dinner Dance at the Club, where we will again be entertained by Slap Beat.  Having stopped home to change, I decided to wear my tropical Pinup Girl Clothing dress for the evening.

October 10a

We had a a lovely night, and I’m glad I mustered up the courage to face my anxieties and attend!

cooltext140589655055117

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in Australian, Fashion, OOTD, PinupGirlClothing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Blue Water Club Rockabilly Festival

  1. Camilla says:

    Great blog post Miss Vera Gin, both outfits were so gorgeous! Looking forward to seeing you next Saturday at Hervey Bay!

    Like

Leave a Reply

