Product Review: Savvy Ultra Matte Lip Colour

Welcome to my review of the Savvy brand “Ultra Matte Lip Colour”.

What: Savvy brand “Ultra Matte Lip Colour” in “Miss Monroe” shade.

Where From?: Priceline and Priceline Pharmacies, Australia.

How Much?: A bargain at just $8.99.

Use: I picked this up at Priceline today, using my quarterly points voucher.  I’ve been

Excuse the blah face...I have a yucky sinus infection

Excuse the blah face…I have a yucky sinus infection

looking at different long lasting lip colours lately, across a range of brands, and this is one I’ve been meaning to try.  Luckily, there was one left of the colour I wanted – a lovely berry red called “Miss Monroe”, for obvious reasons!

Application is via a slant-tipped foam applicator wand which is fairly slim, making it quite easy to apply accurately.  The product goes on WIN_20150817_170907smoothly, without any tugging, but seems to dry pretty instantaneously, so if you make a mistake, a cotton wool bud soaked in makeup remover is your best bet for repair.

What I really like about this product is threefold: it is strongly pigmented, so it doesn’t look watery or weak; it doesn’t feel drying or flaky once on; and the colour is a nice blue-based berry red, which is great if you (like me) don’t suit orangey reds.WIN_20150817_184540

As for wear, this is how it looked after eating a bowl of frozen mango pieces, drinking a glass of soft drink and a glass of water, and eating dinner (spaghetti and bread).

The colour is only worn off in the inner part of my lips, so that when my mouth is closed, you can’t even see the areas that have worn off.  It’s only when I make WIN_20150817_184549a kissy face that it becomes obvious!

Overall, I’m very happy with this product so far:  it’s cheap, looks good, and feels good.  I will, however, do a follow-up review after using it for a few weeks, to give you a really good idea of how the product performs over time 🙂 

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in beauty, Item Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Product Review: Savvy Ultra Matte Lip Colour

  1. Kitty DeVine says:

    Looks great, will have to check it out!
    Thanks VG!

    Like

    • Vera Gin says:

      It really is surprisingly good for such a cheap product, and I like that you can test the colours in store rather than having to order online

      Like

Leave a Reply

