It’s Not All Glamour

I was thinking earlier today about the image we sell to others.  We usually want to show off our best side; our most enjoyable moments; our happiest times.  This is just natural human nature.  In the vintage/pin-up blogging and Facebook community, this of course translates as posts that show off the great hair or makeup we were able to achieve, or the new and exciting clothes and accessories we got.  Now, there’s absolutely nothing wrong with that at all: it’s fun to share the nice parts of our day.

But I just wanted to make the statement that it’s not all glamour.WIN_20150817_104113

This is me, right now: no makeup, hair in rollers, dressed in t-shirt and leggings for work this morning.  No glitz, no glam, just…everyday life.  Although I enjoy wearing pinup and retro style as my day to day look, sometimes I can’t because I’m at the gym, or work, or sick, or camping…you see what I mean?  It doesn’t make me (or you!) any less of a “pinup girl” just because I’m not glammed up every hour of every day.

Traveler Z 14

Most of the prizes!

On another note, most of the prizes for my giveaway competition arrived today!  They are really nice and I’m so excited to have them in my hot little hands, ready to send on to the eventual winners!  Don’t forget to enter here!

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in Accessories, beauty, Opinion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

