Rock and Roll Dancing

Tonight I went to a dance class for the first time.  Due to my anxiety, it’s taken months for me to get to the point of finally trying it, and I was pleasantly surprised to find that I was excited this afternoon.

Ready to rock!

Ready to rock!

I needed to wear comfortable, flat, slide-y shoes for dancing, so I pair my Funtasma saddle shoes (bought from the Pinup Girl Clothing website) with a Crossroads swing dress (score!), Hell Bunny belt (bought online from Natasha Marie Clothing), Erstwilder “Shake Rattle and Roll” milkshake brooch (from Ms Katt’s Kustom House online), and Target cardigan.

Because I expected to get energetic, I wore no makeup apart from mascara and lip gloss – I didn’t want to worry about sweat issues.

It turned out I was right about getting energetic!  It was really good fun – I learned a couple of moves and took part in a number of dances.  The saddle shoes proved quite comfortable apart from the tongue rubbing a little (I’ll have to invest in some suitable socks).

In honour of the dance group’s colours, here’s a selection of purple and teal items I now have my eye on!teal

Teal scarf, on sale at the Sourpuss Clothing website for just US$3.50!  Perfect for hair or neck wear, I think.

teal dressBeautiful Lady Vintage butterfly print dress from Atomic Cherry‘s website, for $109.

This cool Sourpuss skull motif purple cardigan for between dance sessions, also from CardiAtomic Cherry, is $60.

bagAvailable from the huge bag selection at Ms Katt’s Kustom House is this shiny teal anchor bag, for $75.

A choice of purple or teal is available in Erstwilder brooches, including this cute gorilla fox gorillaand fashionable fox, each $29.95.

lauren top

The Lauren top in teal, from Pinup Girl Clothing, is beautifully cut and has a rich depth of colour.  The detailing of the cuffs and the darts ensures this isn’t an ordinary plain top.  US$68 from PUG online, it comes in sizes XS to 4XL.

And the final item I have my eye on, just to top off any outfit, is this Gin decanter label necklace – it’s me!  😛  Available at the ginSourpuss online sale for US$7, I’m hoping to get one before they sell out.

What colour theme would you use to put together an outfit or wardrobe of clothing?

About Vera Gin

A pinup/vintage/retro style fan from sunny Queensland, Australia.
This entry was posted in Atomic Cherry, Erstwilder, Fashion, Ms Katt's Kustom House, Online Shopping, PinupGirlClothing, Sourpuss Clothing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rock and Roll Dancing

  1. Kitty DeVine says:

    Love your review of the saddle shoes, why does no one ever review shoes!!
    Digging that gin necklace!!
    I am a big fan of doing red and black colour combos!! Really need to throw some more green and purple in there though!!

    Like

    • Vera Gin says:

      Shoes – something that has to be comfortable and yet is often overlooked!

      Hmm, I’m sure we could come up with a nice red and black “pretty list” for you 🙂

      Like

  2. Polly says:

    I was blue, blue, blue for years, but in the last couple of years have started going for more reds, and black cut with red or blue. My makeup, especially my lippy, has gotten bolder too – often bright red or pink. Summer means lighter colours and more whites and patterns. And hats. Summer or winter, I love I my hats!

    Like

Leave a Reply

